Skip to main content
05 Oct 2022

Winners unveiled for the 2022 Independent Hotel Show Awards

Winners unveiled for the 2022 Independent Hotel Show Awards

IH Awards

The winners of the 10th annual Independent Hotel Show Awards were announced on 4 October at Olympia London, with the who’s who of the boutique and independent hotel sector in attendance at a packed awards ceremony at the Independent Hotel Show. 

Recognising the passion of independently spirited hoteliers who drive the hospitality sector forward, the Independent Hotel Show Awards champion all that make independent hotels such amazing places to stay.

Karen Weisheit, Hotel Manager at The Grove of Narberth won GM of the Future, in partnership with the Master Innholders, and Stuart Procter, Chief Operating Officer at Stafford Collection, was awarded Independent Hotelier of the Year.  

Due to the outstanding calibre of entries, the judges also chose to award two ‘Highly Commended’ accolades to Beth Bryant, Hotel Manager at The Ickworth Hotel and Alexander Wilson, Front Office Manager at The Goring, for their determination and passion for hospitality.

IH Awards

Procter said of the award: “I’m very honoured and humbled to win such a wonderful award and to be shortlisted alongside some of the best hoteliers in Britain. It really is a privilege to be the boss of the Stafford and I only win this award because of the 200 people behind me who are exceptional day in, day out.” 

Oliver Brown, General Manager of Wivenhoe House Hotel, home to the Edge Hotel School, was recognised for his Outstanding Contribution to the sector and to the next generation of hospitality professionals.  

IH Awards

Brown commented: “Thank you so much to everyone that has supported this, I can’t believe it. My team and our students will be so delighted for me. Thank you so much.” 

In addition to winning the GM of the Future accolade, Karen Weisheit will be granted a place on the Talent Development Programme at Cranfield in 2023, worth £12,000. This is funded by a generous bequest to the Master Innholders Charitable Trust by the late Neil Bannister, a former Master Innholder. 

She commented: “It’s incredible, I can’t quite believe it. To have been nominated along such an amazing array of people, I’m so proud of what we’re delivering for the industry and I’m very excited for the future ahead.” 

IH Awards

The GM of the Future was presented by Dan Rose-Bristow MI, Chair of the Master Innholders, who said: “The Master Innholders developed the GM of the Future Award to honour up-and-coming hotel leaders and to recognise and celebrate those who go above and beyond to show their dedication to becoming future leaders. 

"Karen, Beth and Alexander all exhibit these incredible characteristics and their dedication to the hospitality sector will do wonders for it in the years to come. Myself and the rest of the Master Innholders extend our sincerest congratulations to Karen and we look forward to seeing her continue to grow and develop as one of the nation’s leading GMs.” 

The Independent Hotel Show, and the Independent Hotel Show Awards, will return to Olympia London on 16-17 October.

View all News Hub