Skip to main content
29 Apr 2024

Independent Hotel Show Awards 2024 open for entries with new categories

Independent Hotel Show Awards 2024 open for entries with new categories

Veryan Palmer Headland

Entries have opened for the Independent Hotel Show Awards in partnership with Preferred Hotels & Resorts, which this year have categories recognising innovative design, inspiring hotels and rising stars in hospitality. 

The awards presentation will take place on the first day of the event on 15 October at Olympia London and will additionally recognise one inspiring individual’s outstanding contribution to the independent hotel sector.  

This year’s awards include two new categories, designed to celebrate future hotel industry superstars and to recognise the innovative design bringing new hotels to life and revitalising historic businesses. 

Independent Hotel Show Event Manager Glenn Wallace comments: “We’re delighted to be opening entries for the 12th Independent Hotel Show Awards and introducing two exciting new categories.  

“The independent hotel sector is second to none when it comes to passion and quality of service, and we can’t wait to celebrate excellence across the industry at this year’s event.” 

This year’s categories are:  

NEW! Hotel Rising Star  

This award puts the spotlight on the future of hospitality, recognising the exceptional talent set to define the future of the industry. Hotel Rising Star celebrates standout employees within your hotel team, regardless of experience level. It celebrates those who radiate passion for hospitality, possess early leadership qualities, and demonstrate a hunger to learn and grow within the industry.  

NEW! Best Hotel Design of the Year 

The Best Hotel Design of the Year award is a prestigious accolade that celebrates and recognises excellence in the field of hotel design and architecture. This brand-new annual award honours the most innovative, aesthetically pleasing, and functionally exceptional hotel designs from across the UK and Ireland. 

Independent Hotel of the Year 

The Independent Hotel of the Year award is presented to a hotel that has made a significant contribution to the independent hotel sector. This award recognises a hotel that embodies independent spirit, excellence, and innovation in creating exceptional guest experiences whilst pushing the boundaries expected of an independent hotel.  

The awards judges are:  

  • Brenda Collin, Executive Vice President of Europe, Preferred Hotels & Resorts 
  • Dean Culpan, General Manager, South Place Hotel 
  • Eloise Hanson, Editor, Boutique Hotel News 
  • Jane Pendlebury, CEO, HOSPA (The Hospitality Professionals Association) 
  • Kalindi Juneja, CEO, PoB Hotels 
  • Robert Richardson, CEO, Institute of Hospitality 
  • Nick Maddox, Head of Risk, James Hallam Hospitality and Leisure 
  • Peter Hancock, Conference & Awards Host 
  • Petra Clayton, CEO, CUSTARD 
  • Sarah Duncan, ESG Consultant, Author of The Sustainable Business Book and The Ethical Business Book 
  • Simon Numphud, Managing Director, AA Media 
  • Su Pecha, Founder, ESP Business Development 
  • Veryan Palmer, Director, Headland Hotel Cornwall 
  • Zoe Monk, Senior Editor, Boutique Hotelier 

The Independent Hotel Show Awards presentation will take place on day one of the Independent Hotel Show, on 15 October at Olympia London.  

The awards are free to enter and entries close on Monday 10 June at 5pm. Find out more, and submit your entry, at 

View all News Hub