Independent Hotel Show

Independent Hotel Show Awards

Awards nomination panel

About The Independent Hotel Show Awards

The Independent Hotel Show Awards in association with

The Independent Hotel Show Awards in association with Sky, will once again celebrate the Independent Hotelier and Outstanding New Hotel, providing the opportunity for the industry to recognise their champions. But what is an "independent hotel"?

To categorically classify an “independent hotel” is not without its challenges. We realise that just as the definition of “boutique hotel” has been stretched to the point of blurring its meaning, many properties that are in multiple ownership can sometimes be described as “independent”. This usually means they are not heavily branded or restricted by tight guidelines synonymous with a group or chain (such as Hilton, Radisson etc). And as far as the customer is concerned they are staying at a hotel where the proprietor is directly involved on a day to day basis.

Put simply, an independent hotel is owned and run as a one-off business. These operate in the style of highly individual businesses with minimal group branding.

The Independent Hotel Show defines five critical differentiating factors for today’s independent hotel: individuality, locality, freedom, personality and innovation. 

Recognising the passion of independently spirited hoteliers who drive our sector forward with their creativity and wisdom, together with new businesses; bringing true innovation and coveted ideas around guest experience and business efficiency, the Independent Hotel Show Awards champion all that make independent hotels such amazing places to stay.

A committee of industry experts will select a shortlist of six nominees per award. But this is your industry; we put the vote to you! You will be able to cast your vote via our visitor registration form in due course. Winners will be announced on Tuesday 17th October at the show from 5:30pm - 7:00pm. Voting closes at 11:59pm on Monday 16th October, votes after this time will not be counted.

Vote for Independent Hotelier Vote for Outstanding New Hotel


Independent Hotel Show Awards
Sipping Nyetimber, our official English sparkling wine partner, 2016.

Independent Hotel Show Awards
Tracy Lowy, Founder, The Laslett, Outstanding New Hotel award winner, 2016.

Independent Hotel Show Awards
Robin and Judy Hutson congratulate Kate Levin, General Manager, The Capital Hotel, Independent Hotelier award winner, 2016.

Title partner

james hallam

Commercial partners

  • Chic Retreats
  • sky
  • nespresso
  • drom
  • La Via Del Te
  • Boutinot
  • Henners

Design Partners

  • Benedict Wilhelm
  • Galapagos
  • Harriet Forde
  • Lombok
  • Grace & Thorn
  • Valdivian
  • Vaughan
  • Shape London
  • Technogym

Additional Partners

  • Aqua
  • Lynn Mackie
  • Whitakers
  • Olivers Bakery
  • Plant Plan
  • Chapel Street
  • Bridgman
  • Leaflike